Color Run, Let the Colors Run

This morning I did the Ypsilanti color run for the third year in a row.  Only today it was different somehow, somehow a little more special, a celebration of the amazing turn our country took yesterday.  Now, at no point did the Color Run officials, volunteers or workers say anything of the sort.  They weren’t sponsoring an equality, love is love event, but in my heart I felt it.

Yesterday was a turning point for our country.  It also made me realize how many friends I have that believe the same that I do.  Love is love.  Facebook was flooded with individuals sharing different news clips, pictures and celebratory statements.  It made my heart so happy.  Today I changed my profile picture to the rainbow image in support of what this means to me, my friends/family and our country.

Paul and I have six kids.  There will be many times that they come home and tell us that they love someone.  The possibility exists that someone isn’t always going to be a person of the opposite sex.  Many times I have told my children that they can love whomever they want and should never feel ashamed or embarrassed about it.

When our six year old daughter was two or three, she asked us if she could marry a girl.  I told her that I hoped by the time she was old enough to get married, that she would in fact be able to marry whomever she chose.  Today I can tell her that is in fact the way things are.

Life is already so hard.  I can’t even imagine how much harder it would be if I couldn’t feel free to love whomever my heart lead me to.  The fact of the matter is, some marriages fail.  You can marry the “right” person and still it can not work out.  I am sure that we all know straight people who have divorced and gay couples who have been together for ages.

Man or Woman…love is love.  A good person, is a good person.  I have known many straight people whom I don’t want in my life and gay people whom I am happy to have as friends.  Gay couples who have much better relationships than their straight counterparts.

Whether your relationship makes sense to the world or not doesn’t matter.  Who Are we/they to tell you what your heart feels?  I hope that this decision holds up and stands the test of time.  That marriage is marriage, love is love and everyone deserves to be happy.  I want my kids to live in a world where they can love whomever they choose.  I am extremely grateful that yesterday we made a huge step toward that for them.


 

Leave a Reply

