Free and Brave

Happy 239th Birthday to the country I call home.  The country that I was fortunate enough to be born in to and be a citizen of.  The United States of America, Land of the Free and Home of the Brave.

I do suppose this post might ruffle some feathers, but it’s my truth.  I believe EVERYONE should have an opportunity to live in a land such as this.  For all the rights and the wrongs, people should be able to live out their lives as free and brave.

It makes no sense to me when people get upset about immigrants coming into our country.  Assuming that they figure out a means to live here legally, contribute to society and pay taxes.  After all, weren’t we all immigrants at one time or another?  Some of us more generations ago then others, but it doesn’t mean we weren’t all searching for the same thing.  Being brave in search of freedom.

Perhaps life events brought you over to this country.  Your parents got a new job, or their current job has transferred them.  Maybe you fell in love abroad with a U.S. citizen and want to get married.

My very best friend in the entire world is a citizen of Great Britain, along with her family.  They moved here when she was 2 for her dads job.  She has been here ever since.  I can’t imagine my life without her.  She has her reasons for remaining a citizen of Great Britain, but it doesn’t mean that she doesn’t appreciate the United States.

I also have a friend who is a Canadian Citizen.  When he was old enough to decide for himself, he started looking into the process of becoming a United States Citizen.  He had already lived here so long, that there were a million hoops for him to jump through. Such as providing documentation for EVERY TIME he ever traveled back to Canada in the 20 years he had lived in the U.S. and what the reason for his travel was.  Needless to say, he has yet to become a citizen.

They both appreciate the fine things that this country has to offer them.  They pay taxes, they work hard and they both are now married to U.S. citizens.  I don’t see any reason why they can’t enjoy life here.  I am actually thankful that these two made their way to the U.S.  My life certainly wouldn’t be the same without them.

I wouldn’t say that I am a very “political” person.  Though, I definitely have my stance on things and have no problem making them known.  I love raising my children in a country where they are introduced to many cultures, religions, lifestyles and ethnicities.  A land where they are free to love whomever they choose, be brave enough to live life as who they want to be and not just what a society has decided they NEED to be.

I am a loud mouth, opinionated woman.  A woman who has had relations with men out of wedlock,been divorced and has children with multiple men.  I am highly educated, have a career outside the home and my own credit established.  These are all things that I may be shunned for in other countries, I may not have even realized were opportunities for me if I didn’t live in the United States.

Today and every day, I am thankful to be a citizen of the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave.  I wouldn’t be the woman I surely was meant to be if this weren’t my home.  Happy 4th of July.

One thought on “Free and Brave

Leave a Reply

