Have you discovered the Secret?

A couple of days ago a Facebook friend posted a quote.  I found myself commenting on it without even really thinking.  I asked her about a book.  Told her that the quote instantly made me think of it.  That book got me through my divorce.    Over the last couple of days, I have been thinking maybe I should read it again.

There is a book called the Secret. Have you read it?  If not, I highly recommend that you do.  Also, there is a documentary that I believe you can watch on Netflix.  I recommend this as well, not instead of the book, but in addition to.  It is enlightening.  Maybe I am naive, maybe I am a little too “new age”, but I have always believed that my mind is in control of my life.

The message that I took away from The Secret is that you get back what you put in.  Hard work is rewarded with hard work, positivity is rewarded with positivity.  If you believe, then you can achieve.


To me this obviously doesn’t mean that you can control every factor in your life.  Clearly there are other people and elements involved.  That being said, only you can control how you react to those things.  The more that we worry about anything, that worry typically ends up being toxic to the rest of our lives.  It just seeps through and sucks out the positive energy.

I don’t know about you, but I’d rather go through life thinking that everything is going to be ok.  We take what we are given and learn from it, not drown as a result of it.  When you have a more positive outlook, it seems that you end up healthier overall.

Last night I was talking to my sister, who is 7 months pregnant.  She was telling me how big the doctors think my nephew is.   I said, “wow, gonna be a big boy.”  Then gave her a thumbs up and said “no drugs”.  She responded with “there will probably be drugs involved, not all of us are Shera.”

That is just the thing though, we ARE all Shera, we can ALL do it.  By it, I don’t just mean having a baby with no drugs.  Some of us just believe in our abilities more than others and if you don’t believe in yourself, it doesn’t matter who else does.

Seriously, the Secret…look into it.  There are most definitely things beyond your control in this life.  For everything else, wouldn’t you rather it turn into something positive rather than negative?  Mind over Matter!

2 thoughts on “Have you discovered the Secret?

Leave a Reply

