A Life Lived Better

No one can change your life perspective but you.  The things you decide to let bother you, the people you bring into your life, the adventures that you choose to embark on.  As an adult, all of these things are on you.

I get pretty sick and tired of people constantly complaining about things, but not taking the steps to change them.  Always waiting for someone else to take the stand.  We are grown ups people and at least from where I sit, our voice and choice are the best parts of being adults.

Is it easy?  No, not always.  It does absolutely get easier.  The more you find your voice and use it, the more confident you become in yourself and the more comfortable you become.  Letting others know how you feel is important.  They may not always understand, they may not always be able to help you, but at least they will know you are a straight shooter.

I always say that some people may call me a bitch, but they can never say that I am a liar.  Sometimes my truth comes out harshly and I am working on that, but at least I let my truth out.  I certainly don’t lie to your face about x,y and z just to keep the peace.  Only to go behind your back and say something completely different.  I never understood what the point of it is?  To get others all upset with each other, to spread rumors, only to have all the stuff come out eventually anyway and still the original problem is left unsolved.

Say yes and no when you mean it, it’s ok.  Don’t expect someone to read between these arbitrary lines you have made.  Then think you have some right to get upset because things didn’t go the way you wanted them to go.

Listen and pay attention to other people, listening to their voice is important too.  Where I get myself into the most trouble, is by not shutting up long enough to listen.  Most of the time if I heard the entire story, I wouldn’t have questions or concerns (hello my name is Stephanie and I have a problem interrupting).

Life is already SO hard, in case you didn’t already know. Why in the world complicate them with drama well within our control?  In my opinion life is better lived when you say what you mean.  The good and the bad.  Hey, I like your shirt, you did a great job or I really think we should do things this way.  Don’t just sit back and watch things happen, be an active participant and voice in your own life.

2 thoughts on “A Life Lived Better

Leave a Reply

