#MakingTimeForMe, Health

No, Not today

I didn’t set my alarm for this morning.  I didn’t get up today to go to the gym.  Not because I have already given up, but because I deserve to rest.  I went the last 2 days, woke up at 5am and got in 5 miles each day.    So, last night I made the concious choice to not set my alarm.

Learning to say no to yourself or anyone else about doing something, takes some skill.  I don’t mean standing up for yourself.  What I mean is learning to say no so that you don’t fill your plate too much.  We all deserve to have time to ourselves, to sit and relax a little bit without feeling guilty.

Relaxing sure isn’t in my nature.  I understand the concept and on vacation I am WAY better at it.  However, when I am in my house, with my family, I can constantly think of a million things that need to be done.  Who can relax when there is 1 dish in the sink?  

Seriously, I do mean 1 and a few months ago, I would have “had” to do it in order to go about my day.  Last night I made dinner, a really nice dinner for a Tuesday night.  Meatloaf, mashed potatoes and asparagus, afterward I left dishes in the sink.  As a matter of fact, they are still there.

When dinner was over, instead of washing all the dishes for 20 minutes, I sat down and watched a movie with my husband.  Albeit, a terrible movie, but I relaxed.  I had been going for 13 hrs straight and successfully completed all the tasks that I needed to for the day, so I relaxed.

At 9pm when I crawled in to bed, early, we know we are old, I decided not to set my alarm.  I decided last night that I wanted to stay in bed for a few extra minutes this morning.  That if I wanted to keep this momentum going at the gym, I couldn’t push myself too hard by going every single day.  

I have already set my alarm for tomorrow morning, but today is a day to relax and not feel guilty.  Learning that I don’t have to push myself, as hard as I can push myself at every turn has been eye opening.  It is OK to relax, in fact relaxing has just has much to do with my mental health as exercise does.

4 thoughts on “No, Not today”

Leave a Reply

