Take time to be Thankful

November is for many, the month of thanks.  For the last five years or so, I have gone through the month being specifically thankful for an individual thing each day on Facebook. After November it seems, for most people being thankful kind of just falls by the wayside.  At least on that public platform.  

I personally enjoy reading what my friends and family are thankful for.  It amazes me what other people see as things to be thankful for.  It is almost like the whole, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  The things that I find to be overwhelming thankful for, might just be a thing that someone else doesn’t want.

Luckily for me, my reasons to give thanks are plentiful.  I am also given numerous occasions to record my blessings.  Every Monday my boss sends out an email.  In this email we are asked to respond with an attitude of gratitude.  Three things we are thankful for.  

This allows me to reflect once a week on just a few things I am thankful for and go into detail about how and why.  I have a planner with a spot every week for journaling.  On this, I write down 3 things I am thankful for each day.  I try to have 21 different things each week.

When I am actively participating in an act of giving thanks, I stay mindful of how rich my life is.  Don’t get me wrong, I am always thankful for my family and my health.  This helps you to stay positive about life situations when we think we have been handed lemons.  

I have countless blessings and when my days are rough, reflecting back on these thankful moments really helps me keep myself in check.  Life isn’t perfect, I am not perfect, but there is always always something to be thankful for.

  

Leave a Reply

