A few of my favorite things!

Merry Christmas!  Merry Christmas!

On this day I want to just take a minute to think about all the amazing things I have in my life to be thankful for.  The things that cost nothing, but mean everything. Today, on Christmas Day, I probably won’t unwrap a single present.  Though, I will behold many gifts.

Falling asleep and waking up next to my husband.  This is the first thing and the last thing I am thankful for every single day.  Another day I get to live life with him and then resting after another day we made it through together.  The ups, the downs and we end up in the same place together every night.

Listening to our children laugh.  Only Noah is in our house today, but in a couple days it will be filled with the laughter of all 6 of our children.  The silliness, them finding something so hilarious that even after we have told them to calm down, they bust right out laughing again.  The big belly laughs because something surprisingly funny happened.  Laughter is one of the best sounds in the whole world and when it comes from your children, amazing!

Sitting on our old stained up couch, in our rented house, listening to our sometimes too loud neighbors.  We have a house!  That is the end of the story, we have a place to lay our head, take shelter and keep our children safe.  Last year at this time, I was packing up the home I thought I would live in forever.  This year at the holidays, I get to stay put.  I am thankful for that, no rushing the holidays so that I can hurry up and get ready to move.

Reading a card, an e-mail or a text full of kind words.  We forget in the day to day to tell people how much we appreciate them and why.  The Holidays tend to bring that out for us, oh yea…maybe I should tell them Merry Christmas and while I’m at it tell them I think they are terrific.  Reading a card that my husband gives me (the only love letters I receive) makes me beyond happy.  I will read that card multiple times, before it is put away in my hope chest for me to reflect on whenever I want.

Writing this blog.  Getting my thoughts out, having a forum to do it in. Having friends and family tell me that they have read it, appreciate it and even enjoy it.  “It is just so honest and real.”  I take pride in being like this in my blog life and also in my real life.  It is wonderful to be open and honest, not feel like you are holding back and realizing that others actually like that about you!!

Merry Christmas Everyone.  No matter how many gifts you open, how expensive they were, just be happy.  Think about all your life has to offer. The laughs, the future, the gifts that you can’t quantify or physically unwrap.

 
image

Leave a Reply

