Marrying into Family

Let me tell you about the wonderful family that I married into.

First off, lets start with the fact that my family is really small.  My mom has 2 siblings and I have one cousin.  That cousin has resided in Alaska most of her life.  On the other hand, my dad has 3 brothers and I have just one cousin.  That cousin has lived in Germany his whole life.

I love my own family very much.  We love getting together and always celebrated holidays and birthdays as one.  It was really nice.

My husband’s family looks MUCH different than this.  His father is one of 7 and mom is one of 11.  This has lead to so many cousins and even more 2nd cousins.

6 days before we got married, we were going to celebrate Christmas Day with his mom’s side of the family.  This would be my first time really meeting most of his family.  There had to have been close to 100 people in his Aunt and Uncles house.  Everyone welcomed me and my 2 kids with open arms.  Paul says “that’s just how it has always been.”  “If you love someone that we love, then we love you.”

Every Christmas I look forward to this family dinner.  Going over to his Aunt and Uncles house, seeing his huge family, there is usually a baby that has been born since the last year.  We eat, we catch up, we have a wonderful time.  It doesn’t matter how many of our 6 kids we have with us, they are all welcome.

Getting to know and fall in love with the Larson family has been such a tremendous blessing to me and our family.  They are my family now and I love it.  Having so many aunts, uncles and cousins fills my heart with so much love.

We don’t have the opportunity to see Dad’s family as often, but they are every bit as amazing.  Usually we see a good number of them right around Christmas time, but because everyone was going to be all over the country that didn’t work out this year.  We were able to spend some time with one of his aunts and have dinner while she was in town.

Again we are always welcomed with big hugs and kisses, laughter and comfort as we move through our time together.  They always enjoy all of our children and make them feel at home no matter what we are doing.

Luckily, I am Facebook friends with most of them which helps me to understand them more on a day to day.  Keep up with what is happening with them and their families, to feel like I am getting to know them more even though the visits are few and far between.

It is an honor and a blessing to be a part of these families.  I genuinely love them and look forward to spending time with them.  Having a huge family for my children to be brought up in is so awesome.  Thank you for always welcoming us with open arms!  We love you.

2 thoughts on “Marrying into Family

  1. I too married into a family…five brothers, one sister..everyone paired up with kids except the girl. Holidays were always spectacular with them all…and then everyone moved. We did due to the Army, one did because of the Air Force, one did due to retirement..another because of life-style. now, only times we get together is at a funeral.

    Like

Leave a Reply

