What do you think about…Gun Control?

Well for my first “Think about it Tuesday” I decided on a topic that is all over the news right now.

It was the first thing in my Monday Morning briefing email that I receive from the New York Times.  As far as I can tell there will be some big announcement today and at 8pm on Thursday there will be a “town hall meeting” you can watch with President Obama and Anderson Cooper on CNN.

President Obama is set to announce today “a series of executive actions set to combat gun violence.”

Here are my feelings on the subject, I hate guns.  Thinking about them make my stomach turn and I am pretty sure if I saw one in real life, I would throw up.  I have no interest in holding one or shooting one.  Thank you very much.

That being said, in theory I don’t have a problem with other people having them.  Whatever they need to do to feel safe.  My thoughts are, like much else in this great country, if someone wants one they will find one.  Most drugs are illegal and we still have a lot of drug users out there, so…..

I do not believe that any amount of control is going to keep guns out of an illogical persons hands.  When someone has already mentally made it to the point where they think shooting a person or many people is a good idea, I think they’ll figure out a way.

I of course want gun violence to stop.  I can’t imagine that there are many, if any people who would say…no I like it, I don’t mind seeing it on a daily basis all over the news.  It’s heartbreaking.  There is this statistic to think about, “you are about as likely to get shot in a mass shooting, as you are to get struck by lightning.”  I don’t know about you, but I don’t go through my day to day life worried about getting struck by lightning.

I am curious to hear your thoughts.  What do you think?  Do you think about it at all?  Am I naive?

Leave a Reply

