Just One Chapter

The other day I read a quote on Facebook and it really struck me, so I knew I needed to use it as blog inspiration.

The quote went something like this, “sometimes you don’t get to keep everything you started out with.”

This quote made me think of one of my favorite songs by the Rolling Stones lyrics, “you can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, you just might find, you get what you need.”

For those of you just starting to follow my blog, I went through a divorce 5 years ago, a divorce that was the product of his infidelity.  At the time, I couldn’t understand why, how I would move on and it seemed like it would take forever to find the light at the end of he tunnel.

I remember about a month after I found out about the affair, a friend just a few years older, but much wiser than me said “Steph, remember this is just a chapter, this isn’t your whole story.”

How true that was.  Once I moved out of “our” house, things got better.  Slowly, but surely.  Yes, there were still days I didn’t want to get out of bed and I could barely stomach eating.  Those days got fewer and much further between though.

Just 11 months after finding out about Matt’s affair, I met Paul.  4 1/2 years later, we are still together and each part of our life has helped me write more of my story. 

 It turns out that the infidelity was just a dark chapter, but it didn’t darken the rest of my life.

I didn’t get to keep everything I started out with.  I also didn’t get what I had wanted.  Though, what I wanted 5 1/2 years, wasn’t making me nearly as happy or leaving me as fulfilled as my life today.  

  

6 thoughts on “Just One Chapter

  1. So glad you found happiness. That Rolling Stones line….I use it all the time with my grandson, when he wants something he doesn’t really need….I say “you know what the great prophet Mick Jagger says”…and Shoe (my grandson) says “you can’t always get what you want.” I’m hoping he doesn’t hear the rest of the song. LOL
    I just wish the best for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

