#40Notes40Days: Someone you Taught

Now, unless you are actually a teacher by trade (which I have been) and you pick a student (the ones that I am in touch with are way to young) to write this about.  I feel like this one requires you to be a little narcissistic.  I have picked someone who I have grown to love SO SO SO much and I believe that I have helped/taught in many ways.  That being said, I have also picked someone who will put me in my place if she feels that I have done NOTHING for her, LOL.

Brittany Farson Pennington-  The first time I remember laying eyes on you, you made some really ridiculous comment about how I was really starting to look pregnant, not just fat!  Bahaha…not something you would normally say to a pregnant lady.  I shook my head and walked away.

A few months later our boss really switched things up at the Day Care, promoted me to lead and asked how I would feel with you in my room.  To be honest, I wasn’t sure, I wasn’t sure at all.  I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that you were a hard worker, but I wasn’t sure how we would get along.

We only worked together for about 5 weeks before I went off on maternity leave.  You were so supportive the whole time and when I came back, we started making a transition for you to move into your own class as Lead teacher.  I know that at the end of the day we weren’t together in a classroom very long, but I like to think that I helped ready you for a Lead teacher position.

Once you moved classrooms, you became my baby’s teacher.  This is what really helped us bond.  The drop offs, the lunch breaks and pick ups where we would always talk about more than just Noah.  I remember you coming to me for relationship advice.  Lucky for me, you still do.  I love watching you and Eric grow as a couple.  Even more that we hang out all together and always have an amazing time. Somehow over the last couple of years, you have become one of my very best friends.

When you came to tell Paul and I that you were pregnant and were getting married sooner that you had planned.  When you asked us to be your witnesses.  When you came to our house, choosing us as your friends you wanted to take a wonderful vacation with.  When you called me to be by your side as you brought Elliott into this world.  All wonderful moments, that I will never forget.

I say it to you ALL the TIME, but who would have thought 3 1/2 years ago that the girl who made the off the cuff comment about my fat/pregnant belly would end up being someone who I touch base with every couple of days.  I now can’t imagine my life without you.  We love you, Eric and Elliott so much.  I’m here for you, to teach you anything you may still be able to learn from me and also to learn from you!

40notes40days2014

One thought on “#40Notes40Days: Someone you Taught

Leave a Reply

