#40Notes40Days: Someone who is Family

Mom, Mil, MIL-

Not everyone likes their Mother-in-Law, let alone can find a way to love them.  Not everyone has a Mother-in-Law that loves them and embraces all that they are.

I do though!!!

4 1/2 years ago when Paul proposed to me, you were out of the country.  I’m not entirely sure that you even knew that I existed before you went away to Europe for your Anniversary.  Upon arriving home from your trip you learned of our engagement.

I remember you supporting us from the very beginning.  Although, I’m sure you must have had your doubts, you didn’t let that show to us.  Right before we got married you said something to Paul and I that has stuck in my head.  To all the doubters of our marriage, those who thought that we rushed into it or shouldn’t be getting married at all, you said that the only way to prove them wrong was to get married and stay married forever.

Most people get to know their in-laws a bit before they marry into the family.  With just a few short visits before our wedding, I have done way more of that since that day.

Over the last 4 years I have really enjoyed getting to know you.  Who you are and what you believe in.  I admire you, what you stand for and how you care for Dad and your sons.  I am so blessed that without even a second thought you have always opened your arms to me, James and Jordan.  Treating us like we have just always been there!

We are so fortunate to have you in our lives.  I am so lucky to have you as my MIL.

Not only do you love me for everything that I am, but you gave me one of the biggest gifts I have ever received.  You raised my husband to respect the women in his life.  You know what they say, you can tell a lot about a man by how he treats his Mama.  Well my husband still calls you Mama, so I think you know how he still feels about you!!

We love you Mom.  Thank you for all that you do for us.  Thank you for making me feel from the beginning that your family, is my family.

40notes40days2014

5 thoughts on “#40Notes40Days: Someone who is Family

  1. Thanks for the “note”. God has truly blessed us. It touches my heart to know that you can feel the love that I have for you. Thanks for the confirmation that I’m the type of MIL that you want to be a part of your family. You are a wonderfully talented woman & a loving DIL. Love ya

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

