#40Notes40Days: Someone you need to forgive

Instead of writing to someone that I need to forgive, I decided to write to someone that I have forgiven and moved on with.

Mike-

OH gosh, what is is over 11 years now something terrible happened.  Now, I am not going to air our dirty laundry on here, that isn’t necessary.  All I know is that when it happened, I didn’t think that I would ever want to look you in the face again.  More than that, I didn’t know that I would ever want to be in the same room as you again.

You worked though.  You worked really hard to make sure that I knew that you were sorry. We were able to start from scratch and rebuild our relationship.  Somehow, you withstood my judgement, my harsh words, my terrible faces and went full steam ahead to prove yourself to me.

Well, man it worked!!!  I stood up in your wedding about a year later.  Moved in to your house and we were roommates for about a year.  You were one of a handful of men who were right by my side through my divorce.  Now, all of my kids call you Uncle Mikey!

I love you!  I am glad that you allowed me to have some very difficult, honest, real conversations with you years ago, so that we could make it to the place we are at now.  I am glad that you never pushed me, you let me move at my own pace in forgiveness, trust and friendship. Thank you for that.

Mike-40notes40days2014

7 thoughts on “#40Notes40Days: Someone you need to forgive

Leave a Reply

