#40Notes40Days: Someone who is a Mother-Figure

So here is the thing, since my own Mother is in my life….there is NO one else I could possibly write this note to.

Mom-

I know that I am a pain in the ass. I am so loud and so outspoken, so much different than you.  I know that at 35 years old, I still ask you for a lot.

I can’t pay you back for everything that you have done for me and will continue to do for me.  You know what I learned from you though?  That isn’t what a mother wants.

Moms do things to be helpful, they take care of their children and grandchildren because something inside of them instinctively takes over.  We just want to help, provide and nurture.  I learned that from you.

We don’t need to be paid back with “things”.  Just respect, love, kindness and gratitude and we will continue doing all of those things, as long as we can.

I’m so fortunate to have you in my life.  The kids are so lucky to have their Nana and to be able to enjoy you and time with you on a regular basis.

The most important thing that you taught me was what it means to be a good mother and a good wife.  What that looks like and how to take care of my family.  When I was going through the worst time in my life the one thing that you said to me the very next day was “well now you can have more kids.”  I did get more kids, 4 more, and you love each and every one of them so very much.

Love you Mom!!

40notes40days2014

4 thoughts on “#40Notes40Days: Someone who is a Mother-Figure

Leave a Reply

