Talent Blog Challenge: Day 3

Thank you to B.G.for making this awesome challenge!!  I was nominated by You’re not alone in this world, thank you 🙂

Rules:

  • This challenge is for five days. On each day, name a positive talent that you have and why it’s such a great thing! Also, let us know how you can use this talent to help other people! (Also can post once with 5 things if you only want to do for one day)
  • Tag whoever you want to participate! There is no minimum or maximum amount of people you need to tag! If you want, you can tag everyone!
  • Have fun and realize that you are talented.
  • Let BG know if you participate, she would like to see your answers

Talent number 3: Putting Myself Out Thereputting yourself out there

I’m not sure if this qualifies as a talent.  I do know that it is something that I possess that others don’t.  I do know that I believe it is a strength of mine and I do believe that some might consider it a talent.

I put myself out there all the time.  Even though, I really like my black and white world, a world where things fit into boxes, I’m not afraid to try.  Trying even when I don’t know what the answer or the outcome will be.

In most recent history this involves applying to present at different conferences for work. I have applied for and been accepted to the MiAEYC conference the last 2 years, for 2 different training sessions.  Last fall, I was accepted to another conference that was more local as well.  I submitted an application to the National Early Childhood Conference and should hear about that in the next month or so.

About a month ago a friend of mine told me about an organization that was accepting stories about mental illness.  I took a blog post of mine and submitted it to NAMI.  When you submit, they basically tell you that your story may or may not be used, but that if it is posted on the site it will be anonymous.  Well, yesterday I received an e-mail asking if they could publish it in their magazine, with my name and my picture.  If, I hadn’t put myself out there to an organization I had never heard of, my article clearly wouldn’t have made it to their magazine.

Hopefully my article getting published will help some people.  I am also extremely hopeful that me presenting at the conferences will help people.  I have the mentality that if people go away learning just one brand new thing from me, then I have done something right!

My nomination for today is : Aspiring Blue Cat

 

 

11 thoughts on “Talent Blog Challenge: Day 3

  1. Your talent is amazing! Putting oneself out there is a big deal, not something that everyone would try. I am so glad that it is one of your talents. By the way congratulations on getting your article published. That’s an incredible thing! I am truly happy for you. And thank you so much for the nomination… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

