Flashback Friday: Losing Friends because of Life

Yesterday, I ran into some old friends. I am at an early childhood conference and I knew that they were going to be here. I saw their names in the conference program, knew that they were presenting and got anxious right away.

I haven’t talked to or seen these friends in 4 years. Friends that decided to cut me out, because of life. Yesterday when I saw them at a restaurant, I noticed them first. I went right up to their table and said “HI”. I wasn’t embarassed, sad or nervous. Two of them gave me a big hug and kisses and the other one, just politely smiled. The one that politely smiled is the one who did the cutting, the one who was my best friend, a bridesmaid in my wedding.

Now that it has happened, I’m fine. As my husband said if you see them, they will either ignore you or you will catch up, either way your life doesn’t change! He was right.

So for Flashback Friday, here is the blog post about losing them as my friends!

Making Time For Me

I hold this sadness in the pit of my stomach.  It has been there for 3 1/2 years.  I still think about it every day, dream about it and get upset about it.

Three and a half years ago, I lost the best group of friends I had ever had.  We had been friends for 8 years and had all met where I used to work.  They were the best.

One day, while going back and forth over text with one about some weekend plans, the bomb dropped.  She told me that she and the others thought it best if I didn’t come.  It had been months since I had seen any of them.  Lots had happened.  Paul and I had just got married, moved, I was working full time and I was half way through my pregnancy with Noah.

Anyway, I received a really long text explaining her point…

View original post 813 more words

5 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Losing Friends because of Life

  1. This is really messed up! How could real friends walk away like that? I’ve lost friends over the years because of distance and schedules but not on purpose! And if I saw any one of those friends we’d be thrilled to reconnect. It sounds like they were very selfish but I wonder if the one friend didn’t manipulate the others. I’m sorry this happened to you but seriously you can find better friends than that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

