A to Z Challenge: E stands for Elton John

I am not really certain that anything more needs to be said.  I love Sir Elton John.  I own only a handful of his albums, but have many songs that I know by heart regardless.

“Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” is quite possibly one of the most beautiful songs that has ever been sung.  I still get tears in my eyes when I hear “Candle in the Wind”, I appreciate the version for Marilyn Monroe the most, but when he re-did it for Princess Di, also moving.

He has in my opinion some of the best songs to Karaoke too.  You have “Benny and the Jets”, “Crocodile Rock” “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” and “Rocket Man” that everyone tries to pretend they can sing too.  While also of course pretending that you know all the words, but more than likely you are just sliding a lot of sounds together to make it “right”.

My FAVORITE song by Elton John and also in the top 25 songs of my life is “Tiny Dancer”. I just love it, I can’t explain it but I do and I have as long as I can remember.  There is a friends quote, where Phoebe says she loves the love song about the man from who’s the boss and then sings “Hold me close young Tony Danza”…LOL.  Also, the scene from Almost Famous when they all sing “Tiny Dancer” together still gives me chills.  Wonderful scene in a movie.

I have never been lucky enough to see Elton John in concert and I’m not sure that I ever will.  I can honestly say though, that is one concert I haven’t seen that I really really wish I could.  I would spend some good money to go too.  He is a legend, his songs are beautiful and it would be an honor to see him perform.

6 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: E stands for Elton John

  1. I actually got to see Sir Elton. It was supposed to be my first date with Loser. It turned out to be the beginning of my courtship with his little brother…
    Somebody threw a fork on stage and interrupted the concert for a while but we persevered….it’s a memory I’ll never forget.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

