A to Z Challenge: G stands for Green Day

Green Day, Green Day, Green Day.

I am going to be completely honest and say that I have only ever owned 1 Green Day CD and I don’t even have one currently.  When I was a Freshman in high school, in 1994 I owned Dookie.  I listened to it all day, every day and loved it.  I looked forward to watching the music videos on MTV.

To this day think that Billy Armstrong is a handsome man.  His voice is wonderful and made songs that truly everyone can enjoy.  I can pretty much guarantee that even if you don’t like the “look” or “sound” of Green Day, you can appreciate the song “Good Riddance”.

The first songs that drew me in, that I still turn the radio up for and know all the words to are “Basketcase”, “When I Come Around”, “Welcome to Paradise”.  Songs that came out a little later, but are still worth a listen and still quite enjoyable “Wake Me Up When September Ends”, “American Idiot” and “Boulevard of Broken Dreams.”

At this point in my life though the song that I love the most, that still gives me chills and I think is amazing all around is “21 guns”.  A verse from 21 guns is below.

When you’re at the end of the road
And you lost all sense of control
And your thoughts have taken their toll
When your mind breaks the spirit of your soul
Your faith walks on broken glass
And the hangover doesn’t pass
Nothing’s ever built to last
You’re in ruins

There is a Broadway show that is called “American Idiot” that I would just LOVE to go and see.  Maybe someday, I will.

Green-Day-Dookie-large

One thought on “A to Z Challenge: G stands for Green Day

Leave a Reply

