A to Z Challenge: J stands for Journey

I love Journey.  I have enjoyed them for a long time, I mean it has been on the radio for years.  There are certain songs that just stick in your head and when you are from 20 minutes outside Detroit we all take pride in “born and raised in south Detroit” from “Don’t Stop Believin'”

I went and saw Journey in the summer of 2006 (with Def Leppard) with a group of girl friends and had a blast.  It wasn’t until I was going through my divorce that I finally bought a Journey CD and fell in love with it.  Thank you to Glee.  My daughter used to watch Glee and they used a lot of Journey songs, we watched it all the time and the lyrics started staying in my head.  That’s when I knew I needed to own a CD.

After I purchased the CD I would listen to it in my car, over and over and over again.  It was until I did this that I heard “Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin'” and really listened to the lyrics.  I used to play it as loud as I could and sing it at the top of my lungs.  First I thought it was so sad, it tore me apart after being cheated on.

I wish that I could remember who I had a conversation with back and forth about “Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin'” last week, but I can’t and for that I am sorry.!!

I decided to hear it differently though after a time.  Now, I know that the song really is about being cheated on and perhaps, that is why it healed me so much.  After listening to it so many times though, it also sounds like it could be about a man who is watching a woman he is in love with be treated poorly by her boyfriend or husband.  That he is in love with her and can see that the man is cheating on her, but can’t or won’t do anything about it.  Like I said, I know it is about Steve Perry’s girlfriend cheating on him, I have looked.  I just choose to hear it differently 🙂

Now, for all the other AMAZING songs.  “Faithfully”, “Open Arms”, “Wheel in the Sky”, “Any way you want it” and “Lights” are among some of their greatest hits.  Mostly slower ballads, but a few that are up beat and make you want to get moving.

I would love to go see Journey again, now that I appreciate them and the lyrics more.  We shall see.

journey

2 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: J stands for Journey

Leave a Reply

