A to Z Challenge: Q stands for Queen

Q could be for no one other than Queen!

I have loved Queen as long as I can remember.  Though, my first concrete memory about them and their music I have from Wayne’s World.  All of them signing “Bohemian Rhapsody” in the car.  That is  great and for years and more years from now, everyone will Head bang as the song goes from slow to fast!

waynes world

OK, so beside “Bohemian Rhapsody” which I assume everyone has heard and that song along could qualify Queen for this post, they have so many more amazing songs.

“Killer Queen”, “Bicycle Race” and “Under Pressure” are wonderful songs.  I enjoy each of these songs for the beat and the words.  “Under Pressure” is a great song, sung with David Bowie.

“It’s the terror of knowing
What this world is about
Watching some good friends
Screaming, “Let me out!”
Tomorrow gets me higher
Pressure on people – people on streets”

“Somebody to Love”, “You’re My Best Friend” and “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”.  The three songs that are so obviously about love.  “You’re My Best Friend” was the song for my first dance at my first marriage.  It took awhile for me to be able to hear it again, but now, I still think it is one of the best songs.  It is beautiful and so full of love.

“Another One Bites the Dust”, “We are the Champions” and “We Will Rock You” are anthems!  Usually having to do with sports or other competitive events.  My kids have known the words to these songs since they were 2 or 3 years old.  They recognize them when they come on the TV or radio and they sing along.  As they should!

Our family favorite Queen song is “Fat Bottomed Girls.”

“Are you gonna take me home tonight ?
Ah down beside that red firelight
Are you gonna let it all hang out ?
Fat bottomed girls
You make the rockin’ world go round”

Again, we can thank the show “Glee” for introducing my children to some amazing bands and songs in a fun way.  The show brought the songs up in a way that was interesting to the kids and helped them to fall in love with some amazing groups because they became part of current culture.

Queen thank you for making so many amazing songs.  Freddie Mercury, you were gone too soon.  I would have loved to see you perform!

QUEEN

 

3 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: Q stands for Queen

Leave a Reply

