#Blog, #MakingTimeForMe, Challenges

A to Z Challenge: S stands for STYX

STYX….oh STYX, I had no clue how much I loved you until I was an adult.  Years that I could have been listening to you that I had very little clue all the musical goodness that you had to offer.

I have known the song “Mr. Roboto” for as long as I can remember.Though, I am not sure that I always knew that it was sung by STYX.

Sometime after my divorce I started listening to an all Classic Rock radio station.  Before that, I listened to mostly popular, top 20 stuff.  What a waste of time!!  Anyhow, it wasn’t until then that I repeatedly heard STYX songs and realized that they were STYX songs. Then, I needed to own an album and I also have downloaded quite a few songs onto my Ipod and STYX radio is one of my favorite Pandora options.

Our family favorite song is “Renegade”!  The 3 year old knows all the words, we listen to it on the daily in the car and we have even downloaded this song for Rock Band on our XBOX.  The way that it starts out slow and then goes into this jam!  We just have so much love for it.

The next best song in my opinion is “Too Much Time on My Hands”.  Also a family favorite and second only to “Renegade”.  We listen to these two songs back to back!!

“Sitting on this barstool talking like a damn fool
Got the twelve o’clock news blues
And I’ve given up hope on the afternoon soaps
And a bottle of cold brew
Is it any wonder I’m not crazy? Is it any wonder I’m sane at all
Well I’m so tired of losing- I got nothing to do and all day to do it
I go out cruisin’ but I’ve no place to go and all night to get there
Is it any wonder I’m not a criminal?
Is it any wonder I’m not in jail?
Is it any wonder I’ve got

Too much time on my hands, it’s ticking away with my sanity
I’ve got too much time on my hands, it’s hard to believe such a calamity
I’ve got too much time on my hands and it’s ticking away from me
Too much time on my hands, too much time on my hands
Too much time on my hands”

This song is wonderful, a great beat and words that make so much sense!!!

“The Best of Times”, “The Grand Illusion” and “Fooling Yourself” are also wonderful.  The kids don’t appreciate these songs as much, but I just love their sound!  To me there is just something so different about their sound!

Then there are “Lady” and “Babe”.  Beautiful love songs or at least I assume they are love songs!!  The are slow ballads that are wonderfully written.

“Lady, when you’re with me I’m smiling
Give me all your love
Your hands build me up when I’m sinking
Touch me and my troubles all fade
Lady, from the moment I saw you
Standing all alone
You gave all the love that I needed
So shy, like a child who has grown”

If you aren’t familiar with STYX, you should make yourself familiar.  In my opinion!!  I have yet to see them in concert, but I truly would love to.  In my head, there is just one person to go with too, that is my Father-in-law.  He is the only person who I know enjoys STYX as much as I do!!

styx

 

1 thought on “A to Z Challenge: S stands for STYX”

Leave a Reply

