New Blog Theme: Flounder Theme (I’m nervous)

After over a year on the Eventbrite theme, I am currently working on switching it up.  I am really nervous about losing all of my widgets and such, but I am hopeful that I will be able to figure it out.  It is just time for a new, fresh look.

Come take a look…but not for a few more minutes 😉  Please offer up any suggestions that you might have.  After all this is the first time I am doing it, since I initially made a site in October of 2014.

Thanks in advance!

29 thoughts on “New Blog Theme: Flounder Theme (I’m nervous)

  1. It looks good to me! I wish I could figure out how to get those different “goodies” on my page.
    Oh, and by the way! I tried that pixteller. I actually figured out how to do it! Now, I’m struggling with not wanting to go gung-ho…saying things I probably shouldn’t. LOL

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Mine is just so plain but I notice on yours and so many others, there are listings for awards, followers…that kind of thing. I’ve been trying to figure out how to do that “statcountercode” thing. That tells you which cities have visited your blog. I got all the way down to the bottom and there was no code (that I could see.) My copy and paste didn’t like it, so…..help me…I’m stupid.
        (that’s one of my favorite lines in Bridesmaids….”help me….I’m poor.) I have adopted that phrase to fit my shortcomings….help me…I’m a clutz….help me….I’m old….etc. LOL

        Liked by 2 people

      2. LOL, you are going to need to go to the statcounter website, put in some specific information and then you will get a code to add to a text box for the widget. I am working on a step, by step for you. Give me a few minutes!

        Like

      3. OK….I’m going to try my best here to give you a step, by step!!!.
        1. go to flagcounter.com
        2. There will be a place that says “customize your counter here” simply choose how many flags you wish to display, I have 25. with 5 columns. Choose whatever you’d like. I left all of the other info as the default.
        3. The preview box at the bottom will show you what it is going to look like. Once you are happy with that.
        4. Click the box that says “Get your flag counter”.
        5. Enter your e-mail address.
        6. After you enter a valid e-mail, it will take you to a page with the code.
        7. Click the box that says copy (next to the long HTML code)
        8. Go into your WP Admin
        9.Click on appearance (has a paintbrush next to it) along the right hand side on the bottom
        10. The third option will be Widgets, click on that
        11. Scroll down and you will find a Widget option that says TEXT, arbitrary text or html.
        12. Click on that box and then click on the box that says “Add Widget”
        13. Then a box will appear along the right side of your page, it will say text on top and have two boxes to fill out. One that says “title” and the other that says “content”.
        14. In the spot that says Title, just write whatever you want it to say ex (visitors since 5/1/16)
        15. In the content box, paste the code that you copied from the flag counter page.
        16. Press the blue save button in the bottom right of the box.
        17. It should be ALL SET.
        18. Go view your site and see if it is there. It can take 1 or 2 days for it to show up.
        19. Let me know that you did it, so I can check it out 🙂
        I know that is a lot. Be patient, because you can do it. I would open up a couple of tabs in your browser so that you can read this as you go through the steps 🙂
        Good Luck

        Like

Leave a Reply

