#MakingTimeForMe, Teenage Spotlight

Thursday Teenager Spotlight: 5/12

Thank you to Elm for providing today’s Guest post.   If you are interested in writing your own teenage post, please check out the blog that started it all.  “Calling All Teenage Bloggers
Hi! My name’s Elm, and I blog at Just Call me Elm or Something. I’m 16 and I come from
England.
In some ways, I wouldn’t call myself a typical teenager: there has only been one house party I’ve been to, and even then I didn’t drink alcohol as it doesn’t appeal to me. As well as this, I’m not especially excited at the prospect of shopping, though it doesn’t entirely repulse me. I go out with my friends, to town, but I’ve never been arrested or told by an adult to move away from them.
On the other hand, I think that it some aspects, I could be considered your stereotypical
‘Teenager.’ When I went on holiday to France last summer, every night, I stayed up until gonemidnight. I had what you might call a ‘crush’ on a girl, and went to the beach with a whole group of similar aged people I barely knew. That made me unbelievably happy, and I felt as if I was a’proper’ teen.
Why did I feel like that? I think it was because I had built up, in my head, what a teenager should be like. Often, I go from alternately hating the idea of going out to parties and shopping with my friends, to wishing I could do it every day and despising the idea of sitting indoors. It strikes me as strange, how I view being a teenager, because often my assumptions of what an activity would be like are far from the truth, whether that would be in a positive or negative way.
If I sound like I’m generalizing when I say this, I’m sorry; this post is in itself about generalizations, after all. From what I’ve seen, adults also build up ideas about what teenagers should be like:unruly, rude, drunk, violent. We turn into this swarm of children, inescapable, which terrifies people. I can understand that, because in many a situation you see teenagers on the news who commit violent crimes.
That is just the surface. In every single group, there will be those who fit the stereotype without trying. There are those who will mold themselves to the stereotype, often without meaning to,and still others who fall so far outside the usual appearance of a teen that either they, or other people, can’t stand it. I find that quite sad, but expected; it happens all the time in every realm of society.
We are diverse, and that’s okay. People shouldn’t shun others for acting like a teenager, or for not acting as you’d expect us to. It is more than okay to go shopping, or in turn to go to the park and just relax. I think that because of the pressures of exams and life, we need to rest once in a while. Otherwise, how will we cope?
I hope you enjoyed this post. The real crux of the matter is: however you slot into the world, it’s okay. Don’t try and be someone you’re not – how you act is your choice and is fine, as long as you aren’t hurting anyone.
To people who aren’t teens, I would say that we are people. People will be great, and at times awful and everything in between. Society is sometimes petrifying, but we’re all in control of what makes it so.
From Elm 🙂
1 thought on “Thursday Teenager Spotlight: 5/12”

  1. When I did this I also talked about the definition of a teenager and I thought you made some really interesting points about almost fitting into the mould of a teenager. Sometimes I wish that I had a better social life and that I went to parties, to feel a little more alive I guess, but I think I am spending these years very peacefully and I’m really happy that I’m taking the time to discover my own brain without all the drama. ANYWAY I’m taking about myself and my feelings which doesn’t really matter, maybe this post is just so god damn inspiring that I now have loads of ideas about this. This was a great post Elm as always, you are just so wonderful and I hope you know what an amazing writer you are. And by the way I love this series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

