Kindness Challenge: Week 1 Reflection

I am taking part in an awesome 7 week Kindness Challenge.  If you haven’t heard of it yet, you should go check it out here!

Being kind to myself isn’t something that comes naturally to me.  I tend to beat myself down a lot, inside my own head!

There probably is no real reason for this.  I just feel the need to fix and take care of everything.  So when anyone is unhappy or anything is done incorrectly, I tend to think of all the things that I could have done differently.

However, it is has been getting better and better over the last couple years.  As the kids have gotten older and my marriage has gone on longer.  Learning the ebbs and the flows of the relationships and being able to depend on everyone to do more.

When I have a plan that I don’t stick to though, I tend to really get hard on myself.  I have a gym membership.  I actually really love going to the gym.  Though, some days I just want to stay in bed a little longer and snuggle with Paul before he has to get up and ready for work.  On days where I am going to go to the gym, my alarm goes off at 4:45.  I am dressed, out the door and all worked out and home by 5:35.

I try to go to the gym at least 3 times a week.  This week I decided that I wasn’t going to go at all and I didn’t care.  I was going to be kind to myself.  If I happened to wake up and felt like going, then I would.  If not, I would take the extra sleep and time next to my husband. So, I made it to the gym exactly zero times this week and I feel no guilt!

IMG_0270

I was at a conference for work in downtown Detroit all day Tuesday and Wednesday.  I left the house at 7am and didn’t get home until between 5 and 6 both days.  Normally I would stress out about what that means for dinner for my family.  Instead, I barely thought about it.  It is important to me that my family gets a home cooked meal whenever I can.  Which is usually 6/7 days a week.  Sometimes I worry about if the meal is something that everyone will enjoy, if it is “enough” and how many complaints I will get about it.

Both Tuesday and Wednesday though, it worked itself out.  On Tuesday, I just came home looked in the fridge and threw dinner together.  And you know what, it worked, it was just fine.  Then on Wednesday, my Mom offered to get McDonald’s and bring it over for everyone, success day 2 dinner was taken care of.  I didn’t stress myself out about it and it worked out!!

Also at the conference, which I typically am not a fan of, I decided to embrace the whole thing.  Instead of analyzing everything that everyone was saying or dreading the fact that I was even there, I thought about how I could use it.  What could I do while I was there that would help me?  So, I listened intently to all the wonderful speakers in the sessions I was in.  I took information from the different participants and even made a few friends.  While focusing on the positive, I came away with some really great ideas for a new training or two.

Lastly, my 10-10-10 weigh in was on Monday.  A friendly challenge between about 40 co-workers, 10 weeks to lose 10 pounds and we all chipped in 10 bucks.  I knew that I didn’t lose 10 pounds, but I was going to do my final weigh in anyway.  Well I did and you know what, I was down 2 pounds.  And I was VERY happy with that 2 pounds.

I was kind to myself this week.  Which allowed me to really enjoy my job, my friends and my family.  Being kind brought my stress level down and my mood up!!  It was wonderful!

revofkindness

 

 

4 thoughts on “Kindness Challenge: Week 1 Reflection

  1. I’m so glad you tagged this! I didn’t see the pingback and just happened to see if there were any posts I’d missed that might have gotten lost in the shuffle of m&g comments. So I found you through the tag!! 🙂

    What an AMAZING week!! I can only imagine the relief you felt! I’m a reformed perfectionist and know what it’s like to overthink things, plan and think ahead. You got such great results with just one week of approaching it with a different mentality. How can you extend this self-kindness into the weeks ahead? No need to answer just something to consider as week one ends and a new focus is introduced on Monday. Thank you for taking part in the challenge Stephanie!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good for you. I know what you mean about letting your thoughts about yourself be negative and get you down. Sounds like you took control of those thoughts this week and had a great week. Next week it will be easier. Somewhere I read that it takes 21 days to make a change of habit or thought. You are a third of the way there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very well composed on a tricky subject to be up front with. So empathise with not doing something followed by catastrophising about it. It’s not helpful is it? Far better to think differently and bit file it as failure. That said you had an amazing week and really impressed with the gym, exercise AND losing 2lbs. Really pleased for you.

    Thank you so much for sharing this and inspiring me at the same time 😇

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

