Tuesday At Ten:{Voice}

voice

I have a very strong, very powerful voice.  Which for the most part is a positive, something that I am proud of.  It works really well in my profession where I do a bit of public speaking.

Other time it is a negative.  I talk over and I interrupt people.  This is something that I work really hard not to do, but I can’t fix it 100% of the time.  Sometimes to the outside world it looks like I am not trying to tone it down at all.

However, my voice is definitely to blame for all the disagreements and misunderstandings that I get into with people.  That I talk too “snarky” and too “rude”.  Then people come back and need to defend themselves.  Not because I am really saying something wrong, but because I have said it the wrong way.

The old adage “its not what you said, its how you said it.”  This is the story of my life.  My intentions are usually really good.  I just can’t get my mouth to get on board with my brain.

It is certainly OK to have a voice.  To use it and let your opinion and your feelings be known.  However it is important to speak your words, your truth in a kind and respectful way.

voice1

14 thoughts on “Tuesday At Ten:{Voice}

  1. LOVE that Rumi quote! I have to remember to choose my words carefully, when speaking to my husband who is very hard of hearing…he automatically thinks I’m speaking negative, and it’s probably because I have raised my voice to try to make sure he hears me. Loved this blog; it’s so colorful. And this post…the photo of you with the two glasses of wine…priceless!

    Stopping by from Karen’s Tuesday @ Ten…normally I am posting on Monday night!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

