Thursday Teenage Spotlight: 6/9

If you are interested in participating in the Thursday Teenage Spotlight please 
contact me at cmugrad817@yahoo.com.  Open to all "teens" 12-20 who are willing to
post about what it is like being a teen in 2016!

Being a Teen in 2016

When you talk to someone from generations past, you’ll often hear them say, “Oh life is so much simpler for the youngsters of today”. They’re right too. With the advancements of technology, social movements, greater outreach, there definitely is a lot more ease of access and functionality. But they are so very wrong too. Have you ever sat there using your phone and flicked through the twenty or so apps you use on the daily only to come out of it feeling overwhelmed at the end? Have you ever applied to college with full determination to show the world your limitless potential only to be held back by the ridiculous figure on the tuition letter? Have you ever tried to navigate interpersonal relationships in the age of sharing and social media?

These are just some of the many struggles faced by teens in the modern era.

My name is Anzal (Memoirs of a Troubled Teen) and today I’m going to be talking about some of my experiences of going through my teen years in the massive, confusing and astounding world of today. But first, let me talk a little about myself. I am 18 years old and I come from Pakistan. I like to think of myself as a creatively charged person, always dreaming up different ideas (some of which come to fruition and some don’t), wanting to write, to act and to some extent draw. Writing and acting are two passions that have grown with me. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to work on my acting for a while but I give my writing a lot of importance.

Of course when you talk about those golden days of youth called the teenage years some experiences are evergreen. Teens today still face some common challenges and triumphs that those before them had to face. Teenage life is still very much a cocktail of drama, confusion and – one must never forget the term adults love to use – angst. It is a time of discovery, exploration and mistakes. I know I surely am not the same person I was at the start of my teenage years. The scary part of it all is that there is no textbook, no guidelines, and no syllabus to hide behind here. The lessons you learn are all learnt in the real world.

Reflecting on my teenage years as they have been so far, I can see that it was definitely a rollercoaster. I must admit I wasn’t equipped to cope with my journey. However, during my trials I found that the only people I could really turn to were my fellow teens who were on the ride with me. My parents didn’t understand. I mean how could they? I didn’t blame them for it. Although, I do wish they had tried more. The world is a lot more ever-changing and cutthroat these days. It’s a struggle even for us to keep up with the changes going on. It must be a lot harder for them. The themes of our adolescent years will always stay the same. However, the way we experience these themes is what changes with time and makes the teens of today different from those of the past.

Finally, I’d just like to pass on advice to the teens around the world that are going through this scary phase. Don’t be afraid to do something new, to take advantage of the opportunities you have and of course, to make mistakes because your future self will thank you for it.

Thank you for reading my overly long rant and I hope you liked it.

11 thoughts on “Thursday Teenage Spotlight: 6/9

  1. Hi Anzal 🙂 I love your post 🙂 I’m a substitute teacher who teaches mostly at the high school level. I think it’s great that you’re sharing your voice through blogging. Teenagers are awesome and have so much to say. We need to hear more of their voices. I wouldn’t want to be a teenager in 2016. It was difficult enough in the 80’s.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi 🙂 Thank you very much. Im glad you enjoyed reading it. Yeah, blogging is great because you can say what you want without many restrictions. I imagine each era has its trials but the common point is being a teenager isnt easy in general.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

