Kindness Challenge: Week 5 Reflection

I have been participating in the challenge for 5 weeks now.  I like to think that I am a pretty kind person and that I appreciate kindness shown by others.  However, when you are really looking for it, you can notice even more than you thought was there to begin with.  Here is Niki’s post on Week 5 Kindness Challenge.

Kindness abounded last week!!  Kindness that I haven’t seen or been a part of in years.  A “Life Goes On” kindness, if you will!!!

There were two incident’s where I was around people who used to be my family over the last few days.  Both on Thursday for my daughter’s dance recital and Saturday for my son’s baseball game.  My ex-husband’s parents were in town and they attended both events.

I have seen them a handful of times since the divorce, each time was very awkward and uncomfortable.  These people had been in my life since I was less than 10 years old, but somehow they were now strangers to me.  It broke my heart, but I dealt with it and found a way to respect it.

However, Thursday was different.  When I saw them at the recital, they both said “HI” with big smiles on their faces.  They both even extended their hand to reach out and touch me, for the first time in 6 years.  Then after the recital, I was asked to get into a picture with Jess, Jordan and Ann (my ex mother-in-law).  Life Goes On!

On Saturday James had a baseball game.  We had all of the kids, so we all made our way to the ball field to cheer on James.  When we arrived not only were Matt’s parents there, but so were an Aunt and Uncle that I hadn’t seen since the divorce.  I didn’t care what the right way to approach that was, I ran right over to them and gave them hugs.  It was so good to see them and I had missed them so much.  Then I just said “to hell with it” and hugged my ex in-laws as well!!

Who cares?  Who cares what I am supposed to do?  What others think is weird or wrong?  It was such an incredible day!!  I introduced them to my husband and all of our children.  My Dad sat and talked to them like the old friends that they were.  And…James had 14 of his family members cheering him on.  All together, sitting together and supporting him together.

Saturday night my Dad and I text each other back and forth.  He sent me this message “It was a good day.  Life evolves and we somehow recover and when we’re lucky get stronger. You might not realize it but you are making your children’s lives and memories positive.  I can personally attest to that.  I enjoyed being there.  Love you”

Kindness abounded.  My past, my present and my future collided worlds and it was amazing!!

9 thoughts on “Kindness Challenge: Week 5 Reflection

  1. That’s just awesome Steph!!! So amazing! I’m so happy for you, I can’t imagine how great that must have felt! I agree, to hell with it! Who cares what you’re “supposed” to do or how you’re “supposed” to react. I can feel the love and happiness flowing through your words. So happy for you and your whole family ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Outstanding! It is up to us how we deal with the past and respond in the present. Your family’s future is sure to be more peaceful and happy with the past put in its place. Happy days!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

