Yesterday…

I had a rough one yesterday.

It started out just fine.  I was minding my own business at work.  Doing my thing (and doing it well, might I add), when out of nowhere I got SHIT all over.

I don’t know how or why it happened.  Why it happened in this particular manner on this particular day.

I had playgroup in the morning, hung out with 15 of the greatest kids and had a great time. Playgroup was over and so was the first 3 hours of my day, just like that.  Then I read an e-mail, heard something from a co-worker and immediately felt confused.

About 15 minutes later, I was personally under attack in my work space, in front of 2 other co-workers.  It is my normal reaction to snip right back, to yell and to defend myself.  I am loud and can get very animated.  I stayed in my seat, I listened and eventually I said “I don’t understand why you are being SO snotty to me right now.”  To which I just got a head shake, then a continuation of the ramblings that were being spewed on me.  Then I said “I need to be all done having this conversation.”  I turned around, packed up my things and I left the building.

I was shaking, I had tears in my eyes and I wanted to scream.  I didn’t scream though, I walked away.  I left the uncomfortable, unfair, disgustingly awkward situation.  I was embarrassed, mortified and humiliated.  I know that most of you don’t know me in person, but know that these feelings are feelings I DO NOT usually have as a result of someone else!

I am 35, almost 36 years old and this is the first time that I remember having a “bully” type situation.  It hurts, it makes me sad and now it has started to effect my job, my career, my passion.

I received kind words, nice texts and had great conversation with my other co-workers after the fact.  I even received multiple messages apologizing for the out of control behavior from the co-worker who I had to walk away from.  My question lies, is she sorry because she understands what she did was wrong, or is she sorry because she doesn’t want me to be mad?

It doesn’t really matter.  It still needs to be addressed.  I will be talking to her about it.  I will be talking to her specifically about how she is making me feel.  Because, I am ALL DONE being treated like this in my work environment.

workplace bullies

16 thoughts on “Yesterday…

  1. A like button isn’t the right one here…an empathy one would be better.

    Moral high ground is yours though…you walked away and did not engage in anger. Who looks more stupid? The one raging or the one who dismisses them by not retaliating… Not pleasant my blogging friend but you did good. The supportive co-workers showed you that…and it you’ve had apologies from the ranter maybe just reply with ‘want to talk about why you felt you needed to do that?’

    Really hope you are feeling better about it today and hope the chat goes well…stronger people stay calm…those losing the ‘debate’ tend to shout vitriol…

    I ask again, who is the better person ?

    🌹

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hi, So sorry you had to go through that, however I have got to say you have shown that you are the better and stronger person, you walked away, and that shows control, strength and your integrity, they just showed they can shout, in my experience people like that tend to deflate like a balloon, when faced with something they don’t expect or someone they obviously don’t know, you have shown them (all of them) the better person you are. They have issues that can be clearly seen here, you do not ! Have a great day and don’t give them space in your mind ! you have better things to think about. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bullies lash out….then are sorry and either deny the severity of it or blame you or excuse it by saying they’re sorry. Bullies are bullies….and like all bullies….they are cowards…..the empty apologies are usually just that….empty.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. More importantly you need to be proud of yourself! Although from the tone of the article I think you already are.
        Also I’m sorry that certain co-workers feel entitled to act that way. I’m pretty sure I know who it is as I’ve heard her in action before. 😔

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

