Thursday Teenage Spotlight: 6/16

If you are interested in participating in the Thursday Teenage Spotlight, please 
connect with me on here or e-mail me at cmugrad817@yahoo.com.  You just have to 
be a "teen" between 12 and 20.  Then willing to post about what it is like to
be a teenager in 2016.

Being A 2016 Teen:

Hello, I’m Inspired Teen from www.lifeofaninspiredteen.wordpress.com and I have been lucky enough to be asked to write this post for you today.

I live in the UK and started this blog for my own enjoyment and to share my life experiences and advice with the rest of the world.

In this post I am going to be writing about what it’s like being a teenager in the present day.

I remember when I was younger and my life was consumed with watching Disney things: Hannah Montana, High School Musical and even shows that weren’t on the Disney channel but either way all these shows were telling me that it’s absolutely great being a teenager and they’re the best years of your life blah blah blah. Ever since the age of eight or whatever when I started watching these things on the TV I couldn’t wait to be a teenager and be able to wear make-up, high heels, go out whenever I wanted, get a job and a boyfriend and all the other exciting things you feel you’ll be able to do once you’re a teenager. But no one ever really talks about the bad things that come with being a teenager, and when bad things happen on TV I always used to think it was either cool or the bad thing wouldn’t last very long. I used to think it was cool to be grounded on the TV… don’t know why I just did (I’ve never been grounded in real life).

Being a teenager now I feel, is much more stressful and burdened than being a teenager twenty or even ten years ago, this is because we are surrounded by stereotypes and the media telling us exactly how we’re supposed to look and behave, what grades are expected of us and all the rest of it. It’s especially hard on girls, I personally no longer can look at any girl whether it be in the street, at a group I attend or in a shopping centre without comparing myself to her – sometimes it makes me feel good, sometimes it doesn’t. But I shouldn’t do that and I know it, it’s only because I have learnt through the media that I should look a particular way, behave a particular way, that I should compare myself to everyone and so that’s what I now do and it’s horrible.

I used to think when I was younger that once I was older I would get a boyfriend and my life would be perfect and complete. That I would be truly happy and we’d get married, travel, move in together with a dog and what more could I want out of life? However, just because you become a teenager does not mean that you automatically get a boyfriend. A fairy god mother doesn’t come to you in the night of one of your birthdays and just provide you with a nice boyfriend, that isn’t how life works and yes it sucks, but it’s fact. To have a boyfriend you actually have to communicate with a boy. Even getting a boyfriend is something that we have certain expectations on because of film and media. I’ve known lots of boys that I really like and would be happy to go out with but I have to firstly get up the courage to talk to them and secondly because of stereotypes and expectations etc. I wouldn’t ask a boy out, I would expect him to ask me – the same would be true if I wanted to marry someone, I would expect them to propose. It’s a terrible thing and I don’t want to have these expectations especially because I’m very much a feminist so by believing these things I’m giving in to the sexism but I can’t help it, I feel like a boy asking the girl is just the traditional way but that’s because that’s what the media has told me.

Of course once you’re a teenager you also have the stress of exams. This is something they never talk about in TV. Your entire life will soon be dominated by exams and you will end up with no friends, no activities and no sleep and your entire life will revolve around drinking cups of tea (or coffee) and writing notes from a textbook, highlighting words in a textbook, creating spider diagrams, charts, lists etc. You’ll forget what it’s like to lead a normal life with friends and activities. You’ll forget what it’s like to even step outside, and if you’re unlucky to even step out of your bedroom. Not only is your life dominated by these stressful exams you’re also expected to know exactly what you want to do with your future once the exams are over, and it’s not even a plan you have to have for the next year it turns into a five-year plan of what you want to do and sometimes even an entire life plan. It’s very hard to think of an entire life plan, especially when the future seems so unreal – getting to 30 let alone 60 seems like an unimaginable, impossible thing but we all know it’s going to happen.

Getting a job is dependent on exams and then once you’ve got a job it’s not all fun and games going clothes shopping every weekend splashing the cash because you’re going to have to contribute to the cost of the house and all the rest of the bills. You’ll have to start paying your phone contract, learning to drive, you should probably save up money for university, you’ll have to pay for your activities and the absolute necessities in your life and then once you’ve paid for all that you’ll have little money left and you can bet that it will end up having to be used for someone’s birthday.

There’s also all the hormones that come with being a teenager, it’s possible that even after everything listed above this is the worst. Everybody gets different levels of different hormones that affect them differently and some people have it much worse than others but you never know how you might be feeling. Sometimes you’re angry for no reason and you snap at people who don’t deserve it, which makes them stressed and upset. You can sometimes be really fed up for no reason causing you to just sit around doing nothing. Sometimes you can be really sad for no reason causing you to cry for ages and you don’t even know why you’re crying. Sometimes you can just feel disconnected from the world and everyone in it and it just feels like you’re living in a little bubble looking at everyone through a glass wall, and that the worst of all. It’s so horrible.

Being a teenager in the present day is not everything people say it’s going to be. It’s more and less at the same time. It’s full of stress and expectations that people don’t necessarily want to meet. Time goes too quickly and before you know it you’re almost not a teenager anymore and you’re getting closer and closer to being an adult and it’s terrifying.

I hope you enjoyed this post, please give it a like if you did! I am so pleased and privileged that I got to write this post for you!

Inspired Teen J

 

7 thoughts on “Thursday Teenage Spotlight: 6/16

  1. Oh My Goodness Teen J thank you for writing this post for us today. As a Mum of teenagers my heart goes out to you and I send you a virtual hug. I’m not going to give you any advice, but I’d like to share a few things from our household.
    We have a joke that my kids are still on four hourly feeds, they eat loads of fruit and veg, and they’re lucky I enjoy cooking. They drink lots of water, no soda, tea or coffee by their own choice.
    We rarely watch the news, or read magazines and newspapers, but we are aware of the main news in the world, we choose not to let it crowd our life.
    I’m lucky my kids play sports, so get plenty of fresh air and exercise. I drive them to school and in return I expect them to be well behaved, respect others and work hard, but I don’t pile on the homework pressure (much!) All I ask is that it is completed on time.
    Top exam results are, mainly for the reputation of the school, I say work on subjects you enjoy and just get through the rest. As soon as GCSE’s/ O’level results are out, you move on to higher education and few of these results matter for very long.
    Good A level results are needed for University? Yes and No, I see many Universities begging students to attend their courses, offering grants, incentives and guaranteed places (bribery) to get “bums on seats” and money in their pockets, yes some courses are over subscribed, but the future is changing. My eldest wasn’t ready to leave home when she needed to look at Uni’s whilst studying for AS’s. We said it was ok, she didn’t need to go to Uni, then she found a local tech college offering a Uni course in sport. She still lives at home, it was under subscribed and cheaper than main stream Uni’s, with the short lecture hours she found a part-time job. It worked for us.
    The speeding train of life which we are all clinging to, can stop at stations and people do get off, their eyes can open to see the beauty in us and around us.
    Safe journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

