Our Father’s Day Weekend

As our weekend comes to a close, I am laying on the couch reflecting on the events that took place.

James and Jordan just got picked up to go back to their Dad and Jess’s house until Wednesday.

The love of my life is asleep on the couch and my little love fell asleep in my bed watching TV.  So, it was easy to see that this was time for this Mama to blog!  My way of relaxing and winding down.

My weekend started at 12:00 on Friday afternoon.  I ran home after work, changed into my bathing suit and met my Mom, James and Jordan at the swim club that she belongs to.  We were there for 3 hours, relaxing and getting our tan on (responsibly, I always use SPF 30). It was so nice to start my weekend out in the sun like that.

Later on Friday I went over to one of my closest friends house to help her prep stuff for her July wedding.  We spend a few hours just talking and getting things done.  When I got home, it was Paul’s turn to head out to a friends house for a few drinks.  I sat on the couch, watched my Reality TV, ate some popcorn with hot sauce and had a beer.

Saturday morning, I got up pretty early and started hanging with the kids.  We laid on the couch together and watched Master Chef, after I made us all a hot breakfast, while we let Dad sleep.  I was on the phone with my sister a few times over the morning, planning the afternoon and evening when her, my brother-in-law, niece and nephew were coming into town to stay with us.

At 3:30 James had is Little League All Star Game.  This was his first season with this league and he was voted into the All Star Game.  James absolutely LOVES baseball.  He eats, sleeps and breathes it.  He understands it, loves to watch it on TV and talk stats.  Watching him out on the field brings so much joy to all of us.  He played Catcher, 2nd Base and Outfield, helping to support his team to victory!!

20160618_152419.jpg20160618_170321.jpg20160618_170124.jpg

Like I said, my sister and her family were able to come into town for the game.  My parents attended, Paul’s father drove a couple of hours to watch too.  Plus, James’ Dad, Jess and Jess’s father.  James had 15 people there supporting him!  It was truly wonderful.

Afterward, my sister and her family came to our house and Paul’s Dad.  We barbecued, the kids played together and we had some awesome conversation.  We all just came together to enjoy each other’s company for the evening.

This morning I took Jordan and my niece Morgan to church.  My best friend preached this morning, for her first time as an ordained Deacon.  It was so beautiful to witness, tears of joy and love were streaming down my face during the whole thing.  I am so lucky that God placed this wonderful, kind, strong person in my life.  I can’t believe that my best friend has Rev. in front of her name!

After church, we headed to the pool for the second time this weekend.  This time we brought Paul and Noah with us.  Today was not only Father’s Day, but also my Dad’s birthday.  So, we went up to the swim club to celebrate.  3 more hours out in the sun.

My awesome husband playing Dodge Ball with 3 of our kids and our niece!!  The only thing that could have made this weekend better, would have been having the older 3 kids.  But, we will have them next weekend and we have a lot of fun planned for then as well!

I have said it before and I will say it again, Happy Father’s Day to all of the Father’s who have left their mark on my life.  Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

3 thoughts on “Our Father’s Day Weekend

Leave a Reply

