What Do You Think About….Soulmates?

This weekend led Paul and I to the opportunity to talk about relationships.  He was having a conversation on the phone about how he felt about relationships, especially in the beginning.  Afterward, we spoke some about it some more.

I told him that he said some very nice things about me without even meaning to.  While having this perfectly natural conversation with his brother, he brought up many things about our relationship, how it was in the beginning and how it is now.  A lot of things that made me think, wow that is how I felt/feel too.  Things that we haven’t really ever talked about.

One of those things was soulmates!  He said “I don’t really buy into the whole there is only one person for each of us.”  “That doesn’t mean I don’t believe in soulmates, but I believe a soulmate can be a non-romantic partner.”  Then he said that as he has gotten older, he knows that his best friend is one of his best friends.  That they are practically the same person, with the same thoughts and ideals.

I am pretty sure that I have told Paul how I feel about this before, but he hasn’t really ever told me.  I too believe in soulmates, but not in the traditional sense.  I don’t believe that there is just 1 person for everyone.  I believe that you can find qualities you like about someone and if you work hard on your relationship it can grow and thrive, romantic or otherwise.

I love Paul with all my heart and maybe he is a soulmate, but he isn’t the first or the only. I have 2 people that beyond a shadow of a doubt are my soulmates.  There for the good, bad, ugly and everything in between.  They are my two best friends, that are women!  Katy and Sarah are my soulmates, they have seen into me, believed in me and loved me when I had absolutely nothing to give.

So, I was just wondering do you believe in soulmates?  Do you think that there is only one for everyone?  Is it a romantic partner or can be a friend?

soulmate

 

4 thoughts on “What Do You Think About….Soulmates?

  1. Great post! I agree with you completely. A soulmate doesn’t necessarily have to be a romantic partner. My best friend of 25 years is my soulmate, which makes like a little better knowing that I’ve found that person in this big world.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This was such an insightful post!
    I agree with you, and I believe that we all have at least one soulmate somewhere out there. I also think that a soulmate could be either romantic or not romantic.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think that there are people that come into our lives to teach us things that we need to learn. I don’t believe that there is one perfect romantic soulmate out there for me but I would like to meet someone that makes me feel that way about them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

