Not Smoking Update

A couple of weeks ago now I posted No More Smoking: Hold Me Accountable!  OK, so I am going to be honest here and tell you that didn’t work out!  Well, not that day anyway.

However, this Sunday I went the whole day without a cigarette.  My husband asked me if I wanted to go outside with him and I said “no, I’m good” and just like that I haven’t smoked since then.

It isn’t really anything, I have quit for a few days multiple times.  However, I haven’t even had a craving or resisted the urge to smoke so far, so that is something.

According to my app. (Smoke Free)…I am now 70 hours smoke free.  I have regained 17.3 hours of my life.  I have “not smoked” 15 cigarettes.  (I never smoked very much, only 4 or 5 at the end of the night.)

I am standing strong right now.  My husband hasn’t even asked me if I want to go out with him since Sunday night.  Which means without me saying anything, he realizes that I am trying not to smoke.

Usually my biggest problem is that I become irritable when trying to quit and then I get anxious, so I have a cigarette.  I haven’t found that to be true over the last few days and typically the irritability gets better every day anyway.

I thought for sure I was setting myself up for failure when I got my period (sorry for the TMI) first thing Monday morning. Between the 2, I would have thought my husband would have to pack up and move out for a day or two just to survive, LOL!!

quitsmoking.jpg-nggid0233-ngg0dyn-600x715x100-00f0w010c010r110f110r010t010.jpg

38 thoughts on “Not Smoking Update

      1. As an update…my husband and I grilled tonight. We always have a beer when we grill. For me drinking and smoking go hand in hand. Well, not tonight. I had a beer and my husband smoked without me. No craving. ..no nothing. Woohoo

        Liked by 2 people

      1. SO BITCHY!!!! I promise you, I know this. That is why as soon as I make it past 72 hours I know it is just a matter of me deciding not to pick it up!! My husband hasn’t complained to me once this time about being a total nightmare. So, either he is being ultra supportive or I have figured out how to tame myself!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah! I really need to do this!! Isn’t it more difficult when your husband is smoking? I always look forward to me and nikkis morning and night time talk while we have our cig, I think it’ll be so much more difficult trying to quit if she is still smoking:/

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, it is. He smokes outside always, so I just haven’t been going out with him. I did finally last night and had a conversation while he was smoking and I was fine. He’ll start trying to quit after I haven’t smoked for a month. Us both quitting together doesn’t work.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ahaha! I was thinking that quitting together would also be just as difficult. Nikki and I both get a little cranky when we don’t have our cig, I’m worse though. I smoke a good many cigs more than her. I think I should be the first to quit, I don’t think she’d have that hard of a time. We smoke in our house, which would also need to stop if I try quitting!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I have just started a blog about vaping. And I truly commend you on your non-smoking journey. I would greatly appreciate it if you would follow me or check out my blog as it might give you some other insights on non-smoking. Either way thank you for your inspirational writings. -bel 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

