Send My Love

Yesterday I was driving about an hour to go pick my kids up from their Grandparents.  I was in the car by myself for an hour.  I could listen to whatever I wanted to on the radio and I chose to pop in my Adele CD.

I received the Adele 25 CD from my husband for Christmas.  I listened to it all day, every day right after I got it.  Now, I only listen to it only when I am ready for a good cry.  I can’t listen to it without tears since my eyes and soul were opened to how much “Hello” spoke to me.  Read about that here: Hello from the Outside

So, yesterday I listened to Hello twice.  Belting it out with tears streaming down my cheek. Then the second song on the CD came on and it was like I was hearing it for the first time.  “Send My Love to Your New Lover.”

When I hear Hello all I think about is how much I have changed in the last 6 years.  I reflect back on the hurt and the progress.  When I am crying, it is because of growth and healing. The song just touches me so deeply.

Well, yesterday I really listened to the words of “Send My Love” and found it completely ironic that these songs are back to back on a CD.  Here are some lyrics from Adele.

“I’m giving you up
I’ve forgiven it all
You set me free

Send my love to your new lover
Treat her better
We’ve gotta let go of all of our ghosts
We both know we ain’t kids no more”

My birthday is in 3 days.  Even though it has been 6 years, I still have those ghosts that haunt me.  I didn’t realize it until Friday that it still very much spooks me.  ( I will write a post about that specific revelation in a day or two)  I needed to hear these Adele words on Saturday.  To remind me that I am OK.  That the events of 6 years ago are just that.

6 years later I can see that we are better.  The relationships are better.  We have learned from our past and done better in our present!  I have forgiven it all (even if I can’t forget). “We’ve gotta let go of all of our ghosts.”

 

 

5 thoughts on “Send My Love

Leave a Reply

