What Do You Think About….Internet Trolls?

“In Internet slang, a troll (/ˈtrl/, /ˈtrɒl/) is a person who sows discord on the Internet by starting arguments or upsetting people, by posting inflammatory,[1] extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community (such as a newsgroup, forum, chat room, or blog) with the deliberate intent of provoking readers into an emotional response[2] or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion,[3] often for their own amusement. ” Source-Wikipedia

Last week I wrote a post called The Weekend Before.  I spoke about my experience two weekends ago and how it paralleled with 6 years ago.  At the end of the post, I shared a quote that my friend Jess posted on her blog.  wp-1471190667262

So after I wrote this (what I thought was a) beautiful post.  I received a comment that really threw me off.

“You don’t find what Jess posted insulting at all? She had an affair with your husband and then posts something about not being bitter. If anyone else had posted it, and you had seen it, I wouldn’t be posting this. But I think it pointedly says that you aren’t allowed to be a bit angry about what they did and how your EX treated you.  I am not at all suggesting that holding onto the anger is a good thing. It isn’t. But I am struggling with the messenger.”

OH I am sorry……What the Actual Fuck?  Why in the world did you read my post, about my moving on and my feelings and attack Jess??

To which I responded with…”Well….1. I don’t feel like Jess in any way posted this directed at me 2.If Jess would have told me 6 years ago not to be angry I would have ripped her a new one. However, I know now that being angry and bitter didn’t help anyone in anyway. 3.I love Jess and she loves me.”

After which, I sent Jess a text that just said “I love you.”  She read my post and text me right away and said “Oh my God you know that I didn’t post that quote in Anyway directed towards you.”  And yes, yes I do know that she wasn’t directing it towards me.  Now Stephanie of 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and maybe even 1 year ago….would have thought “what a cheap shot”.  Jess and I are friends now though, so I don’t do any “reading between the lines.”  I just assume that she tells me what she is feeling!

After a little bit of back and forth, I encouraged Jess to also have a response.  This is what she said “If I titled my blog post “This Is For You, Stephanie!” and then put the quote — I would understand where you would think I was being insulting, but I clearly didn’t do that. I don’t understand how you could take such a positive, uplifting post and just find the negative in it.  Wonderful post, Steph. I’m glad you liked that quote and Happy Birthday Week ❤🎈🎉🎁

To which neither of us heard back from the “troll.”  I can’t even find a way to find the blog, to go in and read it.  The things is though, this must happen a lot.  I mean there is an actual slang term for it.  I will never understand why people take their energy to throw negativity into something positive.

I completely get that by posting on social media and writing a blog, I open myself to criticism and varying opinions.  I am OK with that, that comes with the territory.  But…to just turn something negative…..I can’t wrap my head around it.  WHAT DO YOU THINK???

 

7 thoughts on “What Do You Think About….Internet Trolls?

  1. I am fairly quick to defend Southerners when they are cast in a “certain” light, but I am respectful and try to explain that we are not all “bumpkins.”
    When the “hun” decided he needed to straighten out me and all the other women who were on dating sites, the claws came out but again, I tried to use my biting humor. I actually wrote a post about trolls.
    I could not imagine trolling the internet, trying to find somebody to attack. Plain and simple….these people are cowards. They hide behind the safety and confines of anonymity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t understand taking the time to comment in a negative way on someones blog. i just don’t get it.
    I’ve read plenty of things that didn’t sit well with me..or didn’t make sense. Unless someone is asking for a debate, i just move on. It seems pointless to me.

    I had tagged a post with the word ‘Humor’. Was it belly laugh funny..no, but it was a lighthearted take on not allowing others to ruin your inner peace.
    The first comment was this: This is tagged humor because……

    I had to laugh. Given the subject matter, it almost felt like a joke. I just responded…Because it’s a lighthearted take on inner peace.

    I clicked on the bloggers image and this is an experienced blogger, not just some random person. I don’t get it. But I also don’t let it bother me. (so far anyway!)

    Hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are times when we all wish to write what we think but by doing so would come across as mean-spirited and negative, so we DON’T write anything. A troll on the other hand gets extreme emotional satisfaction from doing negative things that appall everyone else. I feel so sorry for them that they have to pick apart other’s words or make snarky comments to feel better about themselves. I admit there have been times when I have engaged with trolls, much to my own disgust,..it never turns out well. Try to ignore them when they rear those ugly heads. Know it isn’t rational and discount anything they say. None of us that follow you would think for a split second that Jess meant anything negative towards you. We are all amazed at the friendship you share and frankly wish we could be the same unselfish caring people that you two are.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I love this comment. You’re right. There are plenty of times where i’ve wanted to say things…but there is no point. We all are entitled to our opinion. We don’t have to agree…just move on. Three are way too many ther blogs that we can read if we don’t like something said.

      As for these two women? They should be praised for working through their stuff because there are two children involved that had no vote… and quite frankly it’s none of our business.

      Liked by 3 people

  4. I think that they had nothing better to do. I read both of your blogs and I see no malice in anything you say. I love that you’ve both forgiven are friends and are parenting beautiful children who are part of a blended family. Some people want to keep the drama going and I have no idea why. Maybe that’s because their life is boring as hell.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Internet trolls demonstrate how the Internet has become an equalizer for the truly informed and those armed with limited knowledge, a marginal command of the English language and a computer. It’s amazing how social media has bred so many amateur lawyers, theologians and constitutional scholars. (This is where a sarcasm emoji would be very useful)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

