Noah’s Birth Story

wp-1476266792182.jpg

This handsome little man turns 4 today!!

4 years ago was the last time I woke up to contractions.  4 years ago was the last time I had to tell someone I think it was time to head to the hospital.  4 years ago was the last time I had a baby inside of me.  I am so blessed that I was able to do it 3 times, but it doesn’t change the fact that I would still do it more!

Probably right around this time, 6:00 am on Friday, October 12 2012, I was in my kitchen pacing around and getting things ready for the day.  I knew that I was in labor, but everyone else was still sleeping.  I needed to get lunch ready for James, he was in Kindergarten.  Paul had been up late, he watched a Detroit Tiger playoff game and I didn’t have the heart to wake him just yet.

I did text my parents and tell them that I needed them to head over to get James to school and watch Jordan, because I was going to have to head to the hospital soon.  This was my 3rd time doing this.  I knew what to expect and I was pretty calm about it all.

Eventually I woke Paul up, told him that I was in labor and that I had already called the Midwife and my parents.  That we were going to need to leave for the hospital soon.  He jumped in the shower and got ready.  Once my parents came over, they gave me a Pandora charm of a bassinet and wished me luck.

Paul and I were on our way to the hospital.  My hospital was about 30 minutes away.  The alternative birthing center was ready for me.  My “hotel room” where I would be having this baby without any drugs, just as I had done the previous two.

Earlier in my pregnancy I had tested positive for Group B Strep.  A type of bacterial infection that can be passed to the baby during delivery.  So, as a result I needed to be given antibiotics via IV.  I had never had an IV before and I hate DRUGS….hence the choice for natural birth to begin with.

As soon as I arrived at the hospital they put in my IV and I got a bag of medicine.  You have 4 hours to have the baby with that bag of antibiotics, if not then you have to have another bag.  Well I got the first bag at 8am, I was dilated to 3cm.  By the time 12pm came, I was only to a 6cm and had to have another bag.

In the mean time though, I was walking around the room.  By about 9am my mom and my two best friends were there with us.  Talking, laughing and sharing stories of past births. My mom and my best friend Katy had been around for the previous two, so they were enlightening Paul about what he had to look forward to.  All the “fun” gadgets and how things can go down when you aren’t having drugs.

I learned during my first pregnancy that walking around during my labor is what works best for me.  It feels the best nearly the entire time.  I talk in between contractions and just go on with my life.  My people are there to support and encourage me the entire time.

I remember that my Midwife came in to check up on me at one point.  She asked which midwives had delivered my last two children.  Then she told me that I was Superwoman and she told me that having the antibiotics for the Strep didn’t make me any less of a superwoman.  That Noah would be here soon!

Nearly as soon as I was done with my second round of antibiotics I knew that I was ready. This was just after noon. Just like with my previous two pregnancies, I felt seriously ready to push before I measured at 10cm and my water hadn’t even broke with this one.  Well, they broke my water and everything got moving.  I was ready.

After about 20 minutes of pushing, starting at 9cm instead of 10, Noah Xavier Christie arrived at 1:52pm.  22 inches long and 9lbs 15oz.  Thank God he was a week early ๐Ÿ™‚

The baby that was going to change Paul and I forever.  The baby that would glue our lives together, bring all of our children together and bind everyone forever.  The baby that we were going to have the chance to raise in our house from birth until college.  Our baby boy had arrived.

He just woke up and is laying next to me as I finish this.  Snuggling me and telling me how much he loves me.

Happy Birthday Noah!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Noah’s Birth Story

Leave a Reply

