Thursday Teenage Spotlight: 12/15

Hi, I’m Emily {https://emilysjournalsite.wordpress.com/}. I am fifteen in 2016. I am a female, adopted, Chinese, teen who also happens to be personally fighting the stigma mental illnesses face. How does that work? Well, I fight the stigma, I fight the sexism, I fight the racism, and I fight the typical stereotyping that everyone faces and I hope to inspire other people to push past it. It can be hard sometimes but I’ve just gotta remind myself that I am bigger than what people say about me. Shall we begin?

Being a teenager in 2016 is a journey full of discovery. You’re discovering more about yourself with every choice you make. Romantic relationships are starting and friendships are both ending and beginning. You discover how ugly the world can be, but also how beautiful it can be. Your life is just getting started, but being a teenager can be the suckiest time of your life. You rise and you fall. Everything is changing when you’re a teenager and it’s hard. It’s hard to accept change. I feel that most life lessons are learned in our teenage years, as we are so curious to find ourselves and along with our mission to do so we make some choices that teach us important lessons. Being a teen can really suck. I’m not going to sugar coat it. We deal with mood swings, feeling insecure about almost everything, struggling to fit in, and trying to find our place in the world. I encourage you to find what you love about yourself and hold onto it, find a positive in everyday, and finally figure out what kind of person you want to be and make it happen. It will really help you get through this weird and confusing time.

I believe we will always have to face sexism, stereotyping, racism, and stigmas. It’s a sad truth. However, we can be bigger than the words and actions of people. We can learn to look past people’s stereotyping, racism, sexism and our own insecurities. I think the thing people, especially teens, have the hardest time doing is loving themselves. Learn to love yourself. It is much easier to give yourself affirmations after someone has said something hurtful if you love yourself.

My final message to you. Stop seeking acceptance from your peers. I am saying this to myself too. Be yourself. You’ll get a lot farther, a lot quicker if you’re being you and not who other people want you to be. Plus you’ll be a whole lot happier and less stressed. I mean, come on, waiting for people’s approval is seriously stressful. Break through society’s standards. Be your own person and maybe people will follow. Be the best you, you can be and be the change you wish to see in the world.

I hope you enjoyed my message and reflection on being a teen. I honestly could say so much more about these subjects in depth and even touch on more subjects, but I think I’ll just leave it how it is as I don’t want to be a bore.

Thanks for reading,

Emily Reichard

4 thoughts on “Thursday Teenage Spotlight: 12/15

  1. Thanks for your honesty Emily. Keep on being yourself. Yes, perhaps the world might seem ugly but there’s also a lot of love and acceptance out there, and it usually starts when we start loving ourself first.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think you should know that your post has touched my heart. Keep writing, Emily, and keep telling people your story and explaining your opinions to people because you write them so well.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

