#Blog, #MakingTimeForMe, 2017 Themes, Health

What Works For Me: Working Out

What Works Wednesday is a place for me to talk about what works for me in my household.  Whether about running the household, being a wife, mom, step mom, matriarch in a blended family, making time for me or anything else!!  You guys asked to hear about how I do what I do and after trial and error what I have found to work. Please let me know if there is something specific that you would like to know about!!

Now, since we are in the first week of the new year and I am getting my physical being back into shape, it just made sense to talk about Working Out.

How does a mother with a full time job make time to work out?  I hear friends and acquaintances ALL THE TIME say that they simply don’t have the time.  Well, I feel like that is BS quite frankly.  It is OK to say that you don’t want to make the time, but it is a whole different thing to say that you CAN’T make the time.

My alarm was set for 4:25 this morning.  I was up out of bed, changed and in my car by 4:30 and at the gym by 4:40.  Is that early?  Why yes, of course it is!!  However, I have realized that if I work out first thing in the morning it energizes me WAY more than sleeping another hour.

Well, then so don’t you feel like you aren’t getting “enough” sleep?  I actually don’t.  My husband and I go to bed between 9:30 and 10 usually.  There is absolutely no reason why we can’t.  I put my children to sleep between 8 and 9 depending on the day and their attitude.  So, I can go to bed any time after that.

I also could go to the gym then, but that doesn’t sound appealing to me at all.  Although, I am sure that could work for some people.  Working out wakes me up to much.  It gives me too much energy to even think about going to sleep shortly after I get done.  So, going in the evening simply doesn’t make sense for me.

Today, I listened to the Brain Candy Podcast.  It is just a funny, entertaining and smart podcast.  They are typically between 40 and 60 minutes, so the perfect amount of time to work out.  I read my book, over 100 pages of it. I mean, it is 6am and I already feel like I have accomplished so much and I feel so great.  I did the Arc Trainer, the Bike, Ab Machines and then finished on the Treadmill.  I burned over 400 calories.

I get my gym bag ready the night before.  I put all my clothes, my shoes, my headband and my Ipad in the bag.  Then all I have to do it scoop it up when my alarm goes off.  I head to the bathroom, change real quick, grab my bottle of water from the fridge and I am out the door.

It doesn’t hurt that I put on clothes from Joules Athletics that make me feel beautiful!!  I can’t believe how flattering they are to my body even with a few extra pounds.  And as rewards to myself when I hit different weight loss goals, I plan on purchasing a new buff and a tank from there.  I encourage you to go check it out if you are looking for wonderful gym clothes that will make you feel great.

1483527835624.jpg

This is what works for me in finding time to work out.  I would be interested to know what works for you?  Do you work out in the AM or PM?  Do you get out of the house or do you work out from home?

Making Time For You is worth it every single time. Even if you have to set the alarm a little earlier than you really want to.  I promise you, it will give you more energy throughout your day.

 

13 thoughts on “What Works For Me: Working Out”

    1. YES, the shirt does too. Isn’t that CRAZY?? That is their logo 🙂 I found out about Joules from friends of mine who got the shirt named after them. The shirt I have is called the Hartmann after my friends!! So cool and I love AND it has a gear, mean to be 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Very cool! Funny how things happen like that. Also, it’s pretty impressive that you’re up by 4:30a. I was just writing last night about how I’m not sure I am going to balance it all – and I’m KID FREE! It’s part of my plan for 2017 – be more purposeful with my time.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. That is a long day!!! I am impressed that you balance family, work, and a healthy lifestyle. That’s awesome that you notice an energy boost from getting an earlier start! It is not easy especially this time of year when it is so cold in the morning. You have inspired me. I will need to start getting to be earlier too then. I hope you are having a wonderful day!!!

        ❤ Alana

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you Alana. Really that means the world to me. I am just getting on my computer for the day. Already was at the gym for 45 minutes. This was the first WordPress message I saw. Good Luck and remember it is about What Works For You!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

