#MakingTimeForMe, Health

Back At It

I honestly can’t remember the last time I went to the gym.  I know I took a couple of weeks off, but I am not sure how much I went after our vacation.  We got back from vacation August 15th.  Oops!

I know that I didn’t hit my 100 mile goal in August, fell just short around 90.  After hitting it for the previous 3 months, I was disappointed in myself.  Then I just let that drag me down, keep me in bed and out of the gym.  As a result, now we are half way through September and I’ve done less than 10 miles.

It’s been a month of transitions, which I certainly do not do well with.  Between Paul getting offered a new job and figuring out how that fits into our lives, a few different trips, babies being born, going through a transition at my job and lastly the kids going back to school, I have come up with a million reasons to skip the gym.  I should have kept with my routine though, as there is something about it that calms me and I just feel better when I hit the gym first thing in the morning.  

So, here we are Monday September 14th, I set my alarm for 5am.  I thought about turning it off when I rolled over at 4:30am, but instead I just got out of bed even earlier.  Not only do I need to get back to the gym, but I have to start training for my half marathon.  My half marathon that is only 5 weeks away.  Ugh!

I tell myself that most things are possible, but it helps me a little if I can find some kind of evidence to support it.  Luckily when I googled 5 week half marathon training, I found a schedule I could work with, Lol!  Starting today with 3 miles.

4 day a week running workouts, with one long run on the 3rd running day.  Then if I want to, cross train on the other days.  I’m determined to make this happen.  Being a part of that Half Marathon for the first time in six years is huge for me.  It’s a mental road block, that I am going to push through and never look back.

As no big surprise and as everything in my life goes, because I haven’t been on my workout game, I have also not blogged lately.  It’s part of a routine for me, one that I let go for close to a month.  I have certainly missed it, it’s relaxing and cathartic for me.  I have so much going on in my head all the time, it’s nice to get some of it out.  

So, today I am Back At It.  I woke up, I went to the gym and I blogged.  I am pulling myself out of the slump I have been in for the last month, reminding myself why I do this.  Cheers to my morning routine and half marathon training.

1 thought on “Back At It”

Leave a Reply

