#40Notes40Days: Someone who was a classmate

Written by:

Chelsea-Things are a little fuzzy, being that it started 20 years ago.  20 years ago I moved to Kalamazoo from Livonia between my sophomore and junior year of high school.  Even after all this time and all that I have been through, that was one of the hardest things I have ever done.

I was not looking forward to starting in a new school at 16 years old.  People were generally pretty nice to me though.  My second hour was gym, gross!!  In Livonia I had already met all the physical education requirements, but in Portage we needed more.  So, here I was a Junior and in P.E. class.  A class that as I recall had about 20 boys and 5 girls.  Lucky for me, you were one of the girls.

You made my 2 years at Portage Central totally manageable.  Not to mention the years that stretched beyond graduation.  We became best friends, what seems like instantly.  Staying the night at each others house, sharing our lockers and spending all of our extra time together.

You were the most loyal and true friend that I could have asked to meet when I moved to Kalamazoo.  Making me feel like I belonged and helping to ease the transition and pain that I held from the move.

It has been far too many years since we have seen each other.  Though, when I think of great friendships that I have had, yours is at the top of that list.  Memorial Day picnics in Three Rivers, Spring Break in Cancun, visits up to Central and watching Brann’s boys play baseball.  Our graduations, first tattoos, prom and many many more things.  My turtle tattoo, would still kiss your lizard one if we were standing side by side.

You ended up being so much more than just a classmate.  For that I am forever thankful! Thank you for everything you gave me in that tough time in my life.  I love you!

 

40notes40days2014

Leave a comment

Latest Articles