A Year for Transformation

1483440643649.jpg

This is me today!  This is me where I am starting.  Day 1, that is today.

When I stepped on the scale this morning I weighed 170lbs!  I am not sure if that is info that you do or don’t need.  Though, if I am going to put myself out there and talk about changing, it seems like we need a starting number.

I’d like to give you an idea of what is “normal” for me.  When I got married to my first husband in February of 2007, I weighed 140 pounds.  Two kids and a divorce later when I got married to Paul in December of 2011, I weighed 140 pounds.  Two months later I found out that I was pregnant with Noah.  We had Noah in October of 2012 and when I got home from the hospital I weighed 147 pounds!

That is pretty much where it started, LOL!!  I was so excited that I only had 7 extra pounds on me after having a baby, that I never really tried to “get back into shape” because I was already fitting in my pre-pregnancy clothes.  So, I held on to those extra 5-7 pounds.

I started my current job in June of 2014, a desk job.  A desk job where you get fed A LOT! I used to be a child care teacher.  With either preschoolers or toddlers all day.  Up and down, running around, so I never gained weight.  I also had a lunch break and that was it, not any real opportunity to snack all day.

Well I don’t see my job changing anytime soon, so I have to change what I do instead.  I have gained over 20 pounds since I started my job.  My work clothes, oh yea, like 2 pairs of pants fit and even those are screaming when I put them on.  I refuse to purchase new larger pants.  Thank God LulaRoe (leggings and other stretchy pieces) is trendy right now.

I went to the gym today for the first time in 4 months.  I climbed on the Arc Trainer right along side the two women who were there the last time I was there.  It was like I never left. I listened to the Brain Candy Podcast and started reading a book on my  Ipad called The Platinum Age of Television.  I worked out for 30 minutes and burned over 300 calories. Then I moved over to the machines and worked on my abs for another 10 minutes.

I know what I need to do to get myself into shape and it isn’t all about going to the gym.  I am drinking coffee this morning, black, no cream and no sugar.  My go to would be to have splenda in it, but artificial sugar isn’t awesome and I am weening myself.

I have already packed my lunch for today.  Two hard boiled eggs, tuna and green beans! Before I head to work I will be making myself a smoothie for breakfast packed with greens and fruits.  Lastly, I will make sure to drink more than enough water and take my vitamins.

Anytime I get up and go to the gym in the morning I play my “anthem” which is Uptown Funk.  It makes me feel happy, energetic and so confident.  Well, today I played it on my way home from the gym.  On the way there, I played Shake It Off.  I don’t listen to current, relevant music ever.  My daughter was singing and dancing to this song this weekend though and even though I seriously only know about 6 words of it, Shake It Off is all I need to know.  The haters gonna hate, but I don’t give a SHIT!

5 thoughts on “A Year for Transformation

Leave a Reply

